RSS

Boeuf Jerky

02 May

Yes, you read that correctly, Boeuf, there, I said it again.  Don’t mind me, I am just practicing French and I love the idea of a good Boeuf Jerky.  Ok, it’s still making me laugh to have those two words together.  I’m easy, what can I say!

Not only am I easy, I am cheap!  So, I make my own Boeuf Jerky when ever I have a need for it, or just a desire for some great dried beef.  The cool thing about Boeuf Jerky is that if you can add together all sorts of flavors that you love.  I don’t believe that there is one right way to make it.  If you need a recipe here’s one that I think works nicely.

Boeuf Jerky

ingredients:

2 pounds flank steak cut into thin slices
1/3 c Soy Sauce
2/3 c Worcestershire Sauce
1 TBS Local Raw Honey – add more by taste, if you want the jerky sweeter, add more.
1 tsp Liquid Smoke –
2 TBS Fresh Ground Pepper
1 tsp Onion Powder
1 TBS Cracked Red Pepper or more to taste – get that eyeball working!
2 cloves Garlic, crushed

directions:

Slice meat into thin slices.  I do this by hand, as I like the wonky look to the jerky.  I then add all the ingredients together in a large zip lock bag and let marinade overnight.  I believe deeply in tasting your marinade, if you don’t like the flavor, adjust it.  Add more smoke, or honey, or garlic, or red peppers, go by the flavor that makes you say, “ohhhh yes!”  If you want more consistent slices, slightly freezing the meat will let you cut it consistently and easily.

Heat oven to 170 degrees, if your oven will go that low.  I have a cool rack system that I got a few years back, that fits in my oven and I layer the marinated meat onto the racks, set it in the oven, and let it dry/cook for about 6 hours +/-.  I don’t love overly dried out boeuf jerky, so I stop my cooking when it’s dry but still a little moist.  I also live in New Mexico, where it’s naturally dry, we can keep this meat for up to a few months, if it even lasts that long.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 2, 2012 in Meats, Primal Diet

 

Leave a comment

 
Lyssa deHart Coaching

Happy Coaches | Happy Coaching

StoryJacking with Lyssa deHart

craft a story worth living

Purpose Diaries

by Crisha Sarah Bowen

Rock Farmer

working to bring forth fruit from the rocky soil

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

: the readiness is all

If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking.